Dr Andrew Catto

Tel: 01535 294807

Executive Medical Director & Consultant in Stroke Medicine

What my department does:

The Stroke Phone is ‘manned’ 24/7 by Consultants of the Stroke Team – myself, Dr Matt Smith and Dr Sam Mawer. For referrals and queries please ring us on 07825530448.

We provide hyperacute care including 24/7 thrombolysis, acute care, and rehabilitation to those who have had a stroke. The service is delivered by a multi-disciplinary team including doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, dieticians, psychology and social services. We recommend any patients with persistent neurology to be directed directly to A&E to expeditite early assessment. We are happy to discuss any cases via the Stroke Phone.

Additionally there are daily Rapid Access Clinics for TIA patients (‘mini-strokes’) with low risk patients being seen within a week (though typically within 72 hours) and high risk patients within 24 hours the majority of the time, including weekends and bank holidays. The clinics provide a medical assessment and then as required same day blood tests, ECGs and carotid Dopplers. Referrals are taken via the Stroke Phone

What my department doesn’t do:
The clinics do not see patients with memory impairment, general decline and non-acute neurological problems. The patient should have experienced a sudden onset of focal neurological deficit that has fully resolved. We recommend referral to the Rehabilitation Team for assessment if there are chronic post stroke complications such as spasticity. Similarly if there is a requirement for therapy alone a referral should be made to the appropriate team.

My areas of interest:
Medical Leadership and Whole System Service Transformation, delivering value based best outcomes for patients and families.

My academic background:

  • PhD University of Leeds 1999
  • Senior Lecturer & MRC Clinician Scientist 200-2005, University of Leeds
  • Cavendish Arthroplasty Fellowship, Sheffield

GMC/Year Qualified/Qualifications
3313627/MBChB Leeds 1989 with distinction in microbiology, BSc Leeds 1986, MRCP 1993, FRCP (London) 2003