13 March 2017 – healthcare heroes honoured at awards

Posted on March 16, 2017 by AireAdmin No Comments

Dedicated healthcare heroes have been honoured for their hard work and achievements at the annual awards event for staff at Airedale NHS Foundation Trust.

The Pride of Airedale annual awards is now in its third year and aims to highlight the very best examples of the work done by staff to provide care to the local community, whether working directly with patients or behind the scenes supporting colleagues.

Bridget Fletcher, chief executive at Airedale NHS Foundation Trust, said: “The awards event is the most enjoyable day of my year. Our Trust is nothing without our staff and it is vital to me that we celebrate what they do to make Airedale better for patients, carers and visitors.

“The people and teams we’re hearing about tonight show how passionate and enthusiastic we all are at Airedale about the patients we serve. I am so proud of everyone.”

Nearly 200 nominations were received for the 13 award categories which included team of the year, unsung hero and colleague of the year.

The award for Team of the Year was won by the Adult Speech and Language Therapy team. Team leader Angela Penny was delighted: “There were 32 amazing teams up for this award, and there was no way we expected to win! It’s a brilliant tribute to all our team members, who work extremely hard and look out for each other, and to our service manager Mary Dickinson, who is a huge support to us all.”

Assistant librarian Martyn Greenwood won the Unsung Hero award. He said, “It was a surprise even to be nominated, so I really wasn’t expecting to win! I was stunned when my name was called out – I can’t believe they chose me from such a long list of nominees.” Martyn is from Skipton and has been in his role at Airedale for two years.

Abigail Pawlowski from the Human Resources team won Colleague of the Year. Abby, from Guiseley, said: “It is humbling to receive an award like this, because I work with a lot of people who equally could have won it. I feel immensely proud of my department and how well we work together – and I feel that this award recognises that.”

Every member of staff winning a monthly pride of Airedale award over the past 12 months was put forward to be judged for the Annual Pride of Airedale award. This year it was won by Maureen Greenwood, clinical lead for Castleberg Community Hospital, who last year spent some time at Airedale Hospital setting up an intermediate care ward. Maureen, who lives at Threshfield, was absolutely bowled over by the award: “I am astonished – and delighted!” she said. “It’s not often I’m speechless but I am absolutely overwhelmed to win this award. I come to work to try my hardest for our patients and deliver the best I can. I couldn’t do this without my fabulous staff – I adore working with them.

“I had a great time working on the ward 10 last year, it gave me a real buzz to support the set-up of the ward and to help people to think differently. I enjoyed the opportunity to do something different but I wouldn’t have been able to do it with the support of my brilliant team.”

Around 350 guests attended the event on Thursday 9 March at the Rendezvous Hotel in Skipton, which included the awards ceremony, reception, dinner and a disco.

Generous donations from sponsors fully funded the event and the Trust is grateful to Davric, Retinue Solutions, Sovereign Healthcare, the Inspiring leaders Network, TTM, Workplace Options, YPO, Miller Homes, Physio Med, the Airedale Staff Lottery, the Friends of Airedale charity, the Rendezvous Hotel and Taskmaster.

Nick Parker, Assistant Director of Human Resources at Airedale NHS Foundation Trust said: “Our annual awards are a way to say thank you to all our staff for the amazing work they do every day, and to celebrate our many successes from the past 12 months.

“Our sponsors help to make this event happen, and make it a really special night for the nominees and award winners. Without them, it wouldn’t be possible.”

The 2017 Pride of Airedale Annual Award winners are:

  • Annual Pride – Maureen Greenwood, Intermediate Care
  • Improving Quality for Right Care – The Frail Elderly Pathway Team
  • Colleague of the Year – Abigail Pawlowski, Human Resources
  • Ward of the Year – Ward 4
  • Team of the Year – Adult SLT
  • Outstanding Support (Corporate Services) – Philip Driscoll
  • Unsung Hero – Martyn Greenwood, Education Centre
  • Innovation & Technology Award – Dr Joel Copperthwaite
  • Outstanding Patient Care/Experience – The Frail Elderly Pathway Team
  • Improving Staff Experience – the Disability Awareness Group
  • Volunteer of the Year – Mike Yates & Eileen Proud
  • Out of Hospital Care Award – Complex Care Team
  • Leader of the Year – Deborah Walker, Radiology

No comments

Leave a Reply