Skip to main content
Five of the Community Specialist Nursing team receiving their trophy from a presenter.

The Community Specialist Nurses Team at Airedale NHS Foundation Trust were awarded Team of the Year – delivering frontline services at Bradford District and Craven Health and Care Partnership’s first ever Celebrate as One Awards.

The team consists of specialist nurses in Respiratory, Heart Failure, Cardiac Rehabilitation and Neurology who are dedicated to the support, education and care of patients with life-changing conditions and their families.

The award category recognises teams that are working together, using the talents of all their members, to achieve the partnership’s shared vision of keeping people ‘happy, healthy at home’ and delivering exceptional care and results.

Although based at Airedale General Hospital, the team support patients in the community with the aim of preventing hospital admission and work with ward staff to arrange early discharge. They also run nurse-led clinics, exercise classes and health education programmes for patients, family, carers and other healthcare professionals within the community.

Marie Duckworth, Team Leader, Community Specialist Nurses at Airedale was thrilled that the Community Specialist Nurses Team took home the award:

“We are absolutely delighted to have been chosen for Team of the Year – delivering frontline services.

“Our Specialist Nurses are highly skilled and provide an amazing service for patients with complex needs and it is fantastic that our hard work and dedication has been recognised by the Bradford District and Craven Health and Care Partnership.”

The Celebrate as One Awards took place on Thursday 19 October at The Aagrah, Midpoint, Bradford and celebrated the work being carried out across Bradford District and Craven within the NHS, local authorities, voluntary and community sector and independent care sector.

Other Airedale successes at the awards included Airedale Hospital and Community Charity who received the Working in Partnership – Act as One award for their pacer train project and Muhammed Patel, who was Highly Commended in the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champion category.