This is Gemma, senior pharmacy technician

Posted on October 19, 2018 by AireAdmin No Comments

Hello, my name is Gemma and I’m a senior pharmacy technician for education and training and medicines information (split role).

How did you get to where you are today? What made you decide to do what you do?

After leaving college, unsure what career path to take, I was offered a position in a busy health centre pharmacy as a Trainee Pharmacy Technician. After gaining my qualification as a technician, I worked in several community pharmacies over 16 years before deciding to move to hospital pharmacy.

I started working as a band 4 technician for 12 months before being offered a band 5 position as a senior pharmacy technician in medicines information. This is a part time position which I job share with a colleague. Another position recently became available within the department which I was very interested in and fits around my current role; senior pharmacy technician for education and training. I applied and was successful, so I now work full time for the Trust with two different roles.

What do you enjoy about your job?

Although both my roles are very different, they do have similar aspects. Both involve helping people which gives me immense job satisfaction.

Medicines information is very interesting and I literally learn something new every day! I enjoy talking to other healthcare professionals and giving advice regarding medication.

The education and training role allows me to get more engaged with my colleagues which I sometimes lacked before as I am based in an office away from the main department.

What do you enjoy about working at Airedale?

I love the atmosphere at Airedale, whether I am walking down the corridor, in our main department or on the wards. The staff are friendly and supportive and I feel involved in the community. There are always opportunities for training and self-development, and employee health and wellbeing are of great importance.

What do you do outside of work?

Outside of work I enjoy painting and yoga, and days out with my children.

No comments

Leave a Reply