As a member, one of the ways you can get involved is by standing for election as a governor on our Council of Governors to represent your local area, if you are a member of the public or your staff constituency, if you are a member of staff.

2013 Elections Latest

New Public Governors:

Steve Coakley, Pendle East and Colne (won at election)
Janet Robinson, Rest of England (unopposed)
Pat Taylor, Settle and Mid Craven (unopposed)
Bryan Thompson, Ilkley (won at election)

New Staff Governors:

Annette Ferrier, Allied Health Professionals and Scientists (unopposed)
John Neale, Volunteers (unopposed)
Shujahat Shah, All other staff groups (unopposed)

Governors re-elected:

Peter Allen, Skipton (won at election)
Peter Beaumont, Wharfedale (won at election)
David Child, Bingley (unopposed)
Jean Hepworth, Keighley East (won at election)
John Roberts, Worth valley (won at election)
Pat Thorpe, Bingley Rural (unopposed)

Seats remaining vacant:

Keighley Central
Lower Wharfe Valley

2013 Elections Latest

8.5.13 Notice of Poll

Please click here to read our election special newsletter

Please click here to view our Notice of Election 2013

Please click here for important information on the eligibility criteria for candidates

22.4.13 Statement of Candidates

25.4.13 Final List of Candidates for Election

25.4.13 List of candidates elected unopposed (ie where there was only 1 candidate for a seat)

Our next elections start in April 2013 and we have the following seats available:

Staff seats: 

  • All other staff
  • Allied Health Professionals
  • Volunteers

Public seats:

  • Bingley
  • Bingley Rural
  • Ilkley
  • Keighley Central
  • Keighley East
  • Wharfedale
  • Lower Wharfe Valley
  • Worth Valley
  • Pendle East and Colne (includes the Pendle Borough Council wards of Barrowford, Boulsworth, Foulridge, Horsefield, Viviary Bridge and Waterside)
  • Rest of England (includes areas outside of our traditional catchment area)
  • Skipton (includes the Craven District Council wards of Skipton North, South, East and West, Embsay, Grassington, Upper Wharfedale and Barden Fell)
  • Settle and Mid Craven (includes the ward areas of Settle and Ribblebanks, Gargrave and Malhamdale, Hellifield and Long Preston, Penyghent, Bentham, Ingleton and Clapham)

If you are interested in standing for election

If you are interested you need to:

1.  Read the governor information pack

2.  If you are not already a member then join the hospital as a member so you can receive the Notice of Election by post in April and this explains how to nominate yourself.

3. Contact the election company and request a nomination form: Contact Ciara Norris at Electoral Reform Services on 020 889 9203 or email Ciara.norris@electoralreform.co.uk

4. All nominations must be received by the election company by 19 April.  Candidates then have until 24 April to withdraw.  Voting forms will be sent to all members with seats up for election on 9 May and voting closes on 29 May.  We will contact all candidates with the results on 30 May.  New Governors take up their post on 1 June.

Any questions?

If you have any questions on becoming a Governor please contact the Membership Office on 01535 294540 or emailmembers@anhst.nhs.uk